Reviews about Zettaimu

Logo of Zettaimu

Zettaimu want to express music not in the lively part of rock'n'roll, but in the heavy part of life. And they want to express frankly shadowy sensitivity peculiar to Japanese, especially toward abroad.

The band ara not interested in car chase, building blasting or school festival.

A literal translation of the band's name "Zettaimu" is

ABSOLUTE NOTHING.

With a spirit of SAMURAI !

Mai Yomoya - Zettaimu fan      

Japanese Art Rock Band Zettaimu
Write a review
1989 My Grandma Says - Zettaimu's 1st album​
5Stars
2000/09/04

H・Aさん - デモ曲の試聴後のご感想(原文)

一貫したコンセプトはやはり今も昔も変わりなく、何にも流されることない、そのアイデンティティはすごいと思います。
しかも、それが時を経て、無駄を切り落とし、よりシンプルで力強くなっているのを感じます。
これは、
紛れも無い日本という国にしかいないバンドだと思います。こう感じたバンドはいまのところ、絶対無と村八分だけです。
曲のほうですが、音的にもそうなんですが、特に歌い方というか、声が奏でる音にとても読経的な雰囲気を感じました。
特に、
「うちの婆様が言うには・・」では曲の合間に聞こえてくる声の旋律は仏教でいう声明に通じるものがありました。
1998 In The Decadent TImes - Zettaimu's 2nd album​
5Stars
2000/12/07

K・Kさん(十代女性)- HPでの試聴後のご感想(原文)

2000 Zettaimu's Live @GOODMAN, Tokyo
4Stars
2000/12/12

C・Fさん - ライヴ後のアンケート(原文)@GOODMAN(東京)

Shiro Sano (Actor)
0Star
May 16, 2001

Mr. Shiro Sano (Actor)

いや、ほんとに、気にしてたんですよ。 「絶対無」は、キョージたちがハードロックだとしたら、僕らはフォークロックだった高校生の頃をどうしても思い出してしまいます。その、どちらでもない、嫌味に聞えたらゴメンナサイだけど、理数科クラスの、頭のいい、プログレだけど、ガチガチじゃなくて、柔軟な感じ。 クリムゾンのメンバーなのに、クレイジーホースにもいた・・・みたいな。来年は、あちこちステージやりたいと思っているので、声かけてください。 タイムスリップ始めた15年くらい前に、エンケンや原マスミなんかと、いっぱいLIVEやってたころの衝動が蘇ってるんです。
2003 Zettaimu's Live @CROCODILE, Tokyo
5Stars
2003/10/12

H・Iさん - ライヴ後のアンケート(原文)@CROCODILE(東京・原宿)

どんな曲なのかと楽しみに来ました。「絶対無」という名の通り、短調使いの不可思議さが、このバンドの色を更に確かにしていて、すごくよかった。
​バンド名は「絶対有」でもいいくらい!
2005 Zettaimu's Live @CROCODILE, Tokyo
5Stars
2005/06/01

T・Nさん - ライヴ後のアンケート(原文)@CROCODILE(東京・原宿)

この前のライブの時にもメールしましたが、ドラムとベースが今回もでっかくて気持ちよかったです!
でも、今回は他のボーカルやギターが競い合うというより、全体で一つの音になってる感じで(2回目だからか)すごく聴きやすかったです。
あ、今日はドラムの人がすごく良かったです。リズムと音が。
​最後のインストが、すげーかっこ良くて、絶対無の極み、みたいな気がします。
2005 Zettaimu's Live @CROCODILE, Tokyo
5Stars
2005/06/01

K・Sさん - ライヴ後のアンケート(原文)@CROCODILE(東京・原宿)

その色香に惑わされ、その指先に絡めとられました。
ボイスが、ビートが、サウンドが、旧い私を破壊し新しい私を創造する。
​シヴァ神~それが絶対無。
2005 Zettaimu's Live @CROCODILE, Tokyo
5Stars
2005/06/01

エネさん - ライヴ後のアンケート(原文)@CROCODILE(東京・原宿)

ここにいるのにここにいない。いないけどいるような気もする。
絶対無は絶対的な無であるのに、そこから無ではないを覚える私です。
​また観に行きます!
KZSU
0Star
2007/05/22
 Japanese prog/psychedelic/hard/folk/alt rock. Selections from their three albums. 4 members, female and male vocalists. Influences include British prog rock (I thought I heard Crimson in there!), Kate Bush, glam, early metal... Interesting stuff (but no “Eastern Europe motif”, alas...)
No FCCs detected, although the English can be hard to fathom.
I like track 1 a lot, tracks 2, 6 and 9 are also good.
1. Oiran   3:39 ****starts right off with power chords. Slow and ponderous with pretty female vocals in Japanese. Syncopated prog-rock bit in the middle.
2. Class V  5:07 ***prominent bassline, vocals in English, often undecipherable.
3. In The Decadent Times 2:17 **60’s psychedelic folk, slow, with several guitars, male vocals.
4. What Can I Do 5:01 **slow and ponderous, rather orchestral, some eastern minor-key in the keyboard. Female vocals in English, bit of Frippish guitar. 
5. Looking For Myself 1:55 **more 60’s psychedelic folk, male vocals in quite understandable English.
6. Time perplexes time oneself 5:57 ***more slow and ponderous, big guitar and bass. Female vocals in Japanese. Great oddball guitar chords in second half.
7. Uo-Saou  6:38 **midtempo, rather nasal female vocals in Japanese, male backup vocals in unison. Lots of sound effects, long bit with chimes.
8. Twilight In My Life 4:44 slow folk rock, male vocals in English with female backup. Adds layers ? electric guitar, keyboard.
9. Namu-Amidabutsu III 5:20 ***Spanish-influenced chord structure, downtempo with male vocals in English, female backing. Elements of 60’s psychedelia.
10. I don't understand 7:12 **marching and bits of guitar and stuff.. Then very subdued female vocals in Japanese and English, almost a merry-go-round atmosphere, but very low-key. Some fairly disturbed effects towards end.
11. I'm Sure  3:41 *arpeggios and both male and female vocals in English. Slow, dramatic drums but not much beat... Lyrics appear to be a love song, but I don’t believe them.
2003 What Can I Do - Zettaimu's 3rd album
4Stars
2021/07/03

20世紀は少年さん - アルバム「What Can I Do」視聴後のご感想(原文)

英語で歌ってるのに日本的な雰囲気って、どないやねん⁉️
GRCA0316_fr_3000_3000.jpg
5Stars
2021/09/21

目黒のサンマ好きジジイさん - 視聴後のご感想(原文)

サウンドだけで勝負しているバンドに久しぶりに出会いました。
自分の年代的には、80年代のMTV以降、映像がなければ聴けない音楽ばかりで、特にjpopやkpopはアメリカの真似ばかりで恥ずかしすぎる。邦楽ロックのベテランバンドとして、毒にも薬にもならぬチープな音楽を駆除していただきたい!
絶対無さん、いい音楽をありがとう!と言いたいです!
GRCA0316_fr_3000_3000.jpg
5Stars
2021/10/01

コインロッカーさん - アルバム「花魁」視聴後のご感想(原文)

えっ?日本国内にもこんな面白いバンドがいたんですか⁉️
人間椅子っぽい一発目の音でガーンときましたが、よく聞くと和風なリズムやメロディーが目立ち、独特な世界ですね。
これは堂々と海外で戦えるサウンドですよ!

​頑張ってください。さっそくシェアさせてもらいます!!
logosTVyRADIO.png
0Star
2015/05/20
Today we discover this gem, from Japan, Zettaimu.
"The Trunk of Tío Pancho"
Write a review